Ordre des sage-femmes du Québec

The Practice in Nunavik

The first maternity in Nunavik was created in 1986 in Puvirnituq some 25 years ago. The purpose was to respond to a need expressed by Inuit women to bring deliveries back to their community. Since the opening of maternities in Hudson Bay, a unique partnership has developed between midwives from the south, established health care teams and Inuit women. It allows Inuit women to give birth surrounded by their family and some of them to be trained as midwives. Students receive theoretical and clinical training in the maternities of Hudson Bay. At the present time, and although midwives started to practise in Ungava Bay in Kuujjuaq in 2009, training has not yet become available.

Following legalization of the practice in 1999, the Université du Québec à Trois-Rivières (UQTR) was recognized as the only institution permitted to grant a diploma to acquire a work license. Inuit midwives then received restrictive licenses allowing them to work only in the North.

In 2008, after the insertion of the Regulation respecting the standards for equivalence of diplomas and training in the purpose of issuing a permit by the Ordre des sages-femmes du Québec, the Board of Directors of the OSFQ recognized the equivalence of Inuit midwives’ training. They received regular licenses, without territorial restrictions.

Now there are three maternities in Hudson Bay (Inukjuak, Puvirnituq and Salluit) and one in Ungava Bay, Kuujjuaq. Currently, there are eight practising midwives in Nunavik and six midwife students.

Working in Nunavik

The work of midwives in Nunavik offers appealing opportunities for midwives interested in taking on professional challenges, while working in an intercultural environment. Nunavik is also perfect for midwives interested in outdoor activities.

For general information about working in Nunavik, visit the Nunavik Regional Board of Health and Social Services website.

For more information about work in every health care centre, visit the following websites:

For more information about Inuit culture, the Pauktuutit Inuit Women’s Association wrote a great reference document named The Inuit Way: A Guide to Inuit Culture.

For more information about special authorization (authorization to practice in Nunavik for a midwife coming from another Canadian province other than Quebec), please contact us at info@osfq.org

Other questions?

Ordre des sage-femmes du Québec

La pratique au Nunavik

La première maternité du Nunavik a été créée en 1986 à Puvirnituq, il y a maintenant 25 ans, pour répondre à un besoin manifesté par les femmes inuites de ramener les accouchements dans leur communauté. Depuis l’ouverture des maternités de la baie d’Hudson, un partenariat unique a vu le jour entre les sages-femmes du Sud, les équipes médicales en place et les femmes inuites, permettant à celles-ci, non seulement d’accoucher entourées de leurs proches, mais aussi à certaines d’entre elles d’être formées pour devenir sages-femmes. Dans le cadre de cette formation donnée dans les maternités de la baie d’Hudson, les étudiantes reçoivent une formation théorique et clinique. Pour le moment, bien que des sages-femmes aient commencé à travailler sur la baie d’Ungava à Kuujjuaq en 2009, la formation n’y est pas encore disponible.

Suite à la légalisation de la profession en 1999, l’Université du Québec à Trois-Rivières (UQTR) a été reconnue comme seule institution capable d’octroyer un diplôme permettant l’obtention d’un permis de pratique. Les sages-femmes inuites ont alors reçu des permis restrictifs leur permettant de travailler seulement dans le Nord.

En 2008, après l’introduction du Règlement sur les normes d’équivalence de diplôme et de la formation aux fins de la délivrance d’un permis par l’Ordre des sages-femmes du Québec, le Conseil d’administration de l’OSFQ a reconnu l’équivalence de formation des sages-femmes inuites qui ont alors pu recevoir des permis réguliers, sans restriction territoriale.

Il y a actuellement trois maternités sur la baie d’Hudson (Inukjuak, Puvirnituq et Salluit) et une sur la baie d’Ungava, à Kuujjuaq. À l’heure actuelle, il y a huit sages-femmes qui pratiquent dans le Nunavik et six étudiantes sages-femmes.

Travailler au Nunavik

Le travail de sage-femme au Nunavik offre des opportunités intéressantes pour des sages-femmes intéressées à relever des défis professionnels, tout en travaillant dans un contexte interculturel. De plus, la région du Nunavik est idéale pour les sages-femmes intéressées par les activités de plein air.

Pour de l’information générale sur le travail au Nunavik, consulter le site web de la Régie Régionale de la santé et des services sociaux du Nunavik.

Pour de l’information sur le travail dans chacun des centres de santé, consulter les sites web suivants :

Pour de l’information sur la culture inuite, l’association des femmes inuites Pauktuutit a produit un très bon document de référence intitulé The Inuit Way : A Guide to Inuit Culture.

Pour obtenir des renseignements sur les autorisations spéciales (autorisation de pratiquer au Nunavik pour une sage-femme venant d’une province du Canada autre que le Québec), veuillez nous écrire à info@osfq.org

Nakurmiik!