Ordre des sage-femmes du Québec

File a Complaint

Ask for an investigation

If you think that your midwife behaved in a manner that infringes the Code of ethics or that she breached her obligations under the Midwives Act, its regulations or the Professional Code, you can request an investigation.

A complaint about a midwife or a request for an investigation of her conduct must be made in writing and sent to the Syndic at the OSFQ head office. You can also contact the syndic by phone. You must let the customer service assistant know that you want the syndic to contact you.

The claim must include the midwife’s identification, a description of the allegations and, if applicable, copies of the documents necessary for the investigation request.

The syndic’s investigation is strictly confidential. During the investigation, she can ask for any information or document from the professional. She can also meet with the midwife and ask for her version of the events. If necessary, she can seek expert advice. During the investigative process, the midwife cannot communicate with the complainant without written permission of the syndic.

The duration of the investigation depends on the complexity of the investigation and the number of investigations in progress. However, if the syndic has not completed the investigation within 90 days following receipt of the investigation request, she has to inform the complainant in writing and provide her with a report of the investigative progress. Every 60 days, for as long as the investigation is not completed, the syndic must keep the complainant informed.

When the investigation is concluded, the syndic informs the complainant by writing of the decision:

  1. Make a complaint to the Disciplinary Board;
  2. Do not file a complaint, with or without recommendations to the midwife;
  3. Refer the request to the Professional Inspection Committee;
  4. Suggest mediation between the parties.

If the syndic decides not to file a complaint, the complainant can request a review from the Review Committee within 30 days following receipt of the decision.

Disciplinary Council

If the syndic’s investigation reveals serious breaches, the syndic refers the complaint about the midwife to the Disciplinary Council of the OSFQ.

Council hearings are open unless the Council orders closed proceedings.

The Disciplinary Council hears the complaint and decides whether the professional is guilty or innocent. The testimony of the complainant, if required, is privileged and cannot be used against him or her in another procedure.

If the Council concludes that there has been misconduct, it can impose one of the following sanctions:

The Council may also recommend to the Board of Directors of the OSFQ that the professional be compelled to successfully complete an apprenticeship, an extension course or both.

It is important to note that neither the syndic nor the Disciplinary Council of the OSFQ can provide a refund or compensation for professional services rendered. Litigations concerning damages and inadequate services must be brought before the appropriate civil courts.

For information after lodging a complaint with the Disciplinary Council, please contact:

The Disciplinary Council Secretary

Ordre des sage-femmes du Québec

Formuler une plainte 

Demander une enquête

Si vous croyez que votre sage-femme a eu un comportement allant à l’encontre de son Code de déontologie ou   qu’elle a   contrevenu à ses obligations selon la Loi  sage-femme, ses règlements ou   le  Code des professions, vous pouvez demander une enquête.

La plainte contre une sage-femme ou la demande d’enquête sur sa conduite doit être faite par écrit et transmise à la Syndique, au siège social de l’Ordre. La syndique peut aussi être contactée par téléphone. Vous devez informer le service à a la clientèle que vous souhaitez que la syndique communique avec vous.

La demande doit comporter l’identification de la sage-femme concernée, une description des faits reprochés et s’il y a lieu, toutes copies de documents nécessaires à l’analyse de la demande d’enquête.

L’enquête de la Syndique est strictement confidentielle. Dans le cadre de son enquête, elle peut exiger tout renseignement ou document du professionnel. Elle peut également rencontrer la sage-femme et lui demander sa version des faits. Lorsque nécessaire, elle peut également demander l’avis d’un expert. Durant le processus d’enquête, la sage-femme ne peut communiquer avec le plaignant sans l’autorisation écrite de la syndique.

La durée d’une enquête varie selon la complexité et le nombre d’enquêtes en cours. Cependant, si la Syndique n’a pas terminé son enquête dans les 90 jours suivant la réception de la demande d’enquête, elle doit informer par écrit le plaignant et lui faire rapport du progrès de son enquête. Tant que l’enquête n’est pas terminée, la Syndique doit, tous les 60 jours, tenir le plaignant informé.

Aux termes de son enquête, la syndique informe par écrit le plaignant de sa décision de :

  1. Porter plainte devant le Conseil de discipline;
  2. Ne pas porter plainte, avec ou sans recommandation à la sage-femme
  3. Référer la demande au Comité d’inspection professionnelle;
  4. Proposer la conciliation entre les deux parties.

Si la syndique décide de ne pas porter plainte, le plaignant peut, dans les 30 jours de la réception de la décision, demander l’avis du Comité de révision.

Conseil de discipline

Si l’enquête de la syndique révèle des manquements graves, la syndique saisit le Conseil de discipline de l’Ordre d’une plainte à l’endroit de la sage-femme.

Les audiences du Conseil sont publiques, à moins que ce dernier n’ordonne le huis clos.

Le Conseil de discipline entend la plainte et décide de la culpabilité de la professionnelle. Le témoignage du plaignant, s’il est requis, est privilégié et ne peut être retenu contre lui devant une autre instance.

Si le Conseil conclut qu’il y a eu faute, celui-ci peut imposer l’une des sanctions suivantes :

Il peut aussi recommander au Conseil d’administration de l’ordre d’obliger le professionnel à compléter avec succès un stage ou un cours de perfectionnement ou de l’obliger aux deux à la fois.

Il importe de souligner que ni le syndic, ni le Conseil de discipline de l’Ordre ne peuvent accorder de dédommagement ou un remboursement relativement à des services professionnels rendus. Les litiges concernant les services inadéquats et les dommages subis doivent être soumis aux tribunaux civils compétents

Pour toute information après le dépôt d’une plainte au Conseil de discipline, veuillez vous adresser à :

La secrétaire du Conseil de discipline


4126, RUE SAINT-DENIS,  BUREAU 300, MONTRÉAL (QUÉBEC)  H2W 2M5